Loveboat, Taipei by Abigail Hing Wen | ARC Review

When Loveboat, Taipei was first announced, I’ll admit that I wasn’t that interested. When the FFBC (the lovely company hosting this blog tour) sent out an email asking for bloggers to sign up, I did so because this book had been talked out a lot. I wasn’t expecting too much, but this book blew me away.

We follow Ever Wong, who’s parents are sending her from Ohio to Taiwan to a summer camp called Loveboat in Taiwan to learn Mandarin. Ever is against the idea, but when what she finds there is the last thing she expected. Also at the summer camp is Rick Woo, who she has been compared to her entire life, Sophia Ha, his cousin, and Xavier Yeh. For the first time in her life, Ever will experience fun, drama, break rules, and maybe even fall in love.

This book has one of the best love triangles I’ve ever read. I knew who she was going to end up with, but the author did a great job making it seem like she’s pick the other boy. The characters’ were complex and interacted well together, and their backstories made them even more interesting and engaging. The plot itself is a fairly standard one for contemporaries, so this book shines with its character development.

Overall, I liked this book a lot more than I was expecting too. It has a lot going for it, and it has a diverse cast and is set in a foreign city, so I would love to see it gain popularity once it is out in the world!

PURCHASE

Barnes and Noble | Book Depository | IndieBound

TOUR SCHEDULE

https://fantasticflyingbookclub.blogspot.com/2019/11/tour-schedule-loveboat-taipei-loveboat.html

BOOK INFORMATION

Publisher: HarperCollins
Release Date: January 7th 2020
Genres: Young Adult, Fiction, Romance, Contemporary, Travel, Asian Literature

For fans of Crazy Rich Asians or Jane Austen Comedy of Manners, with a hint of La La Land

When eighteen-year-old Ever Wong’s parents send her from Ohio to Taiwan to study Mandarin for the summer, she finds herself thrust among the very over-achieving kids her parents have always wanted her to be, including Rick Woo, the Yale-bound prodigy profiled in the Chinese newspapers since they were nine—and her parents’ yardstick for her never-measuring-up life.

Unbeknownst to her parents, however, the program is actually an infamous teen meet-market nicknamed Loveboat, where the kids are more into clubbing than calligraphy and drinking snake-blood sake than touring sacred shrines.

Free for the first time, Ever sets out to break all her parents’ uber-strict rules—but how far can she go before she breaks her own heart?

GIVEAWAY

Prize: Win (1) of (2) copies of Loveboat, Taipei by Abigail Hing Wen (US Only)

Starts: 1st January 2020

Ends: 15th January 2020

Link: https://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/d9681b86439/

4 thoughts on “Loveboat, Taipei by Abigail Hing Wen | ARC Review

  1. Hi there! Someone in my Facebook group shared this site with us so I came to take a look.
    I’m definitely loving the information. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting
    this to my followers! Exceptional blog and brilliant style and design.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.